Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Exhibitions

kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth, Michel Majerus Estate, Berlin, 2022. © Joseph Kosuth / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; © Michel Majerus, 2022. Courtesy neugerriemschneider, Berlin and Matthew Marks Gallery; © K.R.H. Sonderborg / Galerie Maulberger, München 2022. Courtesy Sammlung Grässlin, St. Georgen. Photo: Marjorie Brunet Plaza

28.04.2022 – 18.03.2023

kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth Michel Majerus Estate

curated by Peter Pakesch

Michel Majerus Estate
Knaackstraße 12
10405 Berlin

Opening Hours
Saturdays 11 am–6 pm or by appointment

The Michel Majerus 2022 exhibition series will be launched by kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth, which will show artworks by Michel Majerus side by side with works by his two professors, Joseph Kosuth and K.R.H. Sonderborg, for the first time. Curated by Peter Pakesch, the exhibition will be held at the artist’s former studio, now the Michel Majerus Estate.

In the late 1980s, Michel Majerus (1967–2002) enrolled at the Academy of Fine Arts Stuttgart, initially to study painting under K.R.H. Sonderborg (1923—2008), and beginning in 1991 under Joseph Kosuth (b. 1945).

During his time with Kosuth, Michel Majerus was introduced to a concept of art that countered processes of thought with visual analogies, breaking away from the impetus of gestural painting – an approach celebrated by Sonderborg, a proponent of informal painting. Majerus succeeded in manifesting this dialectic in one of the most significant oeuvres of newer painting. Thus, he made a highly unique contribution to the establishment of a new visual language shaped initially by the analogue and later increasingly by the digital possibilities of image production. Concept and text merge with gesture and spontaneity in Michel Majerus’ work.

In kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth, Peter Pakesch, curator of Michel Majerus’ first museum solo show at the Kunsthalle Basel in 1996, shows how the different strategies of the artist’s two professors coalesce in his work to form a new understanding of spatial and conceptual continuity.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Ausstellungen

kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth, Michel Majerus Estate, Berlin, 2022. © Joseph Kosuth / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022; © Michel Majerus, 2022. Courtesy neugerriemschneider, Berlin and Matthew Marks Gallery; © K.R.H. Sonderborg / Galerie Maulberger, München 2022. Courtesy Sammlung Grässlin, St. Georgen. Photo: Marjorie Brunet Plaza

28.04.2022 – 18.03.2023

kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth Michel Majerus Estate

Kuratiert von Peter Pakesch

Michel Majerus Estate
Knaackstraße 12
10405 Berlin

Öffnungszeiten
Samstags von 11–18 Uhr und nach Vereinbarung

 

Die Ausstellung kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth bildet den Auftakt zur Ausstellungsreihe Michel Majerus 2022 und zeigt erstmalig Arbeiten von Michel Majerus zusammen mit Werken seiner beiden Professoren Joseph Kosuth und K.R.H. Sonderborg. Die von Peter Pakesch kuratierte Ausstellung findet im ehemaligen Atelier des Künstlers, dem heutigen Michel Majerus Estate statt.

Michel Majerus (1967–2002) studierte ab Ende der 1980er Jahre an der Kunstakademie Stuttgart zunächst in der Malereiklasse von K.R.H. Sonderborg (1923–2008), danach, ab 1991, bei Joseph Kosuth (*1945).

Durch seine Auseinandersetzung mit Kosuth war Michel Majerus mit einem Kunstbegriff konfrontiert, der Denkprozessen eine bildliche Entsprechung gab, die sich von dem Impetus gestischer Malerei absetzten – einem Gestus, der von Sonderborg als einem Vertreter der informellen Malerei zelebriert wurde. Majerus gelang es, diese Dialektik in eines der bedeutendsten Œuvres neuerer Malerei zu überführen. Damit trug er auf seine ganz eigene Weise zur Etablierung einer neuen visuellen Sprache bei, die zu Beginn von den analogen und zunehmend von den digitalen Möglichkeiten der Bildproduktion geprägt war. Konzept und Text versus Geste und Spontanität fließen im Werk von Michel Majerus zusammen.

Mit kosuth majerus sonderborg – an installation by Joseph Kosuth zeigt Peter Pakesch, Kurator der ersten musealen Einzelausstellung von Michel Majerus in der Kunsthalle Basel 1996, wie sich die unterschiedlichen Strategien seiner beiden Professoren in Majerus’ Werk zu einem neuen Verständnis von räumlicher und konzeptioneller Kontinuität verdichten.