Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Exhibitions

Michel Majerus, Ohne Titel, n.d. © Michel Majerus Estate, 2022. Courtesy neugerriemschneider, Berlin and Matthew Marks Gallery. Photo: Jens Ziehe, Berlin

22.10.2022 – 15.01.2023

Michel Majerus: Early Works KW Institute for Contemporary Art

curated by Krist Gruijthuijsen with assistance by Léon Kruijswijk

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin

Opening Hours
Wednesday to Monday, 11 am–7 pm
Thursday, 11 am–9 pm
Closed Tuesdays

Opening: Friday, October 21, 2022, 7–10 pm

Curated by Krist Gruijthuijsen, the exhibition Michel Majerus – Early Works seeks to uncover the earliest layers of Michel Majerus’ artistic practice by showing works he produced between 1988 and 1995. Many of these pieces are on public view for the first time.

The exhibition is dedicated to the beginnings of Majerus’ nationally and internationally celebrated work. Majerus’ artistic approach is already apparent in the early works created during his studies. These explore visual culture, time, speed and seriality as well as virtual and physical space. The artist’s continuous observations of surface and space as well as his inquiries into materials and techniques were essential to his methodological way of illuminating how images are produced. This investigation formed the foundations of his reflections on the meaning and power of visual culture.

The KW will show over 80 pieces from the artist’s early works set in an exhibition architecture created specifically for them in the institution’s main hall and on its ground floor. Fragments of scaffolding will recall Majerus’ first institutional solo show at the Kunsthalle Basel in 1996, wherein the artist created a scenography that integrated viewers into its visual space. This practice allowed Majerus to initiate a new and critical confrontation with the continuous hybridization of visual culture, at the same uncovering the impossibility of escaping the ever growing, pervasive presence of images and virtual space in the fabric of our daily life.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Ausstellungen

Michel Majerus, Ohne Titel, n.d. © Michel Majerus Estate, 2022. Courtesy neugerriemschneider, Berlin and Matthew Marks Gallery. Photo: Jens Ziehe, Berlin

22.10.2022 – 15.01.2023

Michel Majerus: Early Works KW Institute for Contemporary Art

Kuratiert von Krist Gruijthuijsen mit Assistenzkurator Léon Kruijswijk

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststraße 69
10117 Berlin

Öffnungszeiten
Mittwoch bis Montag, 11–19 Uhr
Donnerstag, 11–21 Uhr
Dienstags geschlossen

Eröffnung: Freitag, 21. Oktober 2022, 19–22 Uhr

Die Ausstellung Michel Majerus: Early Works, kuratiert von Krist Gruijthuijsen, versucht, die allerersten Schichten von Michel Majerus’ künstlerischem Wirken freizulegen, indem sie zwischen 1988 und 1995 entstandene frühe Arbeiten des Künstlers zeigt. Viele der ausgestellten Frühwerke sind zum ersten Mal in der Öffentlichkeit zu sehen.

Die Ausstellung widmet sich den Anfängen von Majerus’ national und international gefeiertem Schaffen. Bereits im Frühwerk, das noch während seines Studiums entstand, zeigt sich Majerus’ künstlerischer Ansatz. Seine Arbeiten erforschen visuelle Kultur, Zeit, Geschwindigkeit und Serialität sowie virtuelle und physische Räume. Die kontinuierliche Beobachtung von Fläche und Raum sowie die Untersuchung von Materialien und Techniken waren essenziell für Majerus’ methodisches Durchleuchten der Bildproduktion. Diese Auseinandersetzung bildete die Grundlage für seine Reflexionen über die Bedeutung und Macht visueller Kultur.

In der Haupthalle und in den Ausstellungsräumen im Erdgeschoss zeigen die KW inmitten einer eigens dafür produzierten Ausstellungsarchitektur über 80 Werke aus dem frühen Schaffen. Baugerüstelemente verweisen auf Majerus’ erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung 1996 in der Kunsthalle Basel, in der der Künstler eine Szenografie schuf, die Betrachter und Betrachterinnen in den Bildraum integrierte. Mit dieser Praxis generierte Majerus eine neue und kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der fortlaufenden Hybridisierung visueller Kultur und deckte zugleich die Unmöglichkeit auf, der ständig wachsenden, durchdringenden Präsenz von Bildmaterial und virtuellen Räumen im Geflecht unseres Alltags zu entkommen.