Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Exhibitions

Michel Majerus, the space is where you’ll find it, 2000. © Michel Majerus Estate, 2022. Courtesy Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg

12.11.2022 – 12.02.2023

Michel Majerus – Data Streaming Kunstverein in Hamburg

curated by Bettina Steinbrügge and Milan Ther

Kunstverein in Hamburg
Klosterwall 23
20095 Hamburg

Opening Hours
Tuesday to Sunday, 12 pm–6 pm
Closed Mondays

Opening: Friday, November 11, 2022

The exhibition Michel Majerus – Data Streaming at the Kunstverein in Hamburg explores the digital aspects of Majerus’ work and addresses its relationship to art’s contemporary discourses.

The exhibition centers around the large-scale installation The space is where you’ll find it (2000) from the collection of the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg. For the first time in years the work will be reconstructed in the Kunstverein’s exhibition space and contextualized by the presentation of further works by Majerus.

Considered a major pioneer of the visual arts related to the then-nascent information age as it became the digital age, Majerus mirrored elements of a digital aesthetic in expansive paintings and installations as early as the 1990s. His works are distinguished by his integration of advertising in the form of slogans and logos as well as characters from comic books, computer games, and other pop-cultural influences. In the process he decontextualized these novel codes and tied them into new systems of meaning in an ironically heightened way, for example by situating them within the same field as his art-historical references. Furthermore, Majerus was one of the first painters of his time to use the computer as tool in his own image production.

Thus, the exhibition Michel Majerus – Data Streaming shows those approaches in Michel Majerus’ work still described as ahead of their time by artists today, and opens up the possibility of developing his work further to connect it with our present-day culture of information. Held at the same time on the exhibition floor below, Cory Arcangel’s exhibition presents one response to this inquiry.

Neuer Berliner Kunstverein KW Institute for Contemporary Art Kunstverein in Hamburg neugerriemschneider Michel Majerus Estate Kunsthalle Mannheim Museum Ludwig Neues Museum Nürnberg Sprengel Museum Hannover Ludwig Forum Aachen Kunstmuseum Stuttgart Kunsthalle Bielefeld Museum Folkwang Saarlandmuseum – Moderne Galerie Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg Staatsgalerie Stuttgart Kunstmuseum Bonn Mudam Luxembourg Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean

Ausstellungen

Michel Majerus, the space is where you’ll find it, 2000. © Michel Majerus Estate, 2022. Courtesy Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg

12.11.2022 – 12.02.2023

Michel Majerus – Data Streaming Kunstverein in Hamburg

Kuratiert von Bettina Steinbrügge und Milan Ther

Kunstverein in Hamburg
Klosterwall 23
20095 Hamburg

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Sonntag, 12–18 Uhr
Montags geschlossen

Eröffnung: Freitag, 11. November 2022

Der Kunstverein in Hamburg geht in seiner Ausstellung Michel Majerus – Data Streaming den digitalen Aspekten in Majerus’ Schaffen nach und thematisiert den Bezug zu heutigen Fragestellungen in der Kunst.

Im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung steht die groß angelegte Installation The space is where you’ll find it (2000) aus der Sammlung des Kunstmuseums Wolfsburg. Erstmals seit langer Zeit wird diese in den Räumen des Kunstvereins rekonstruiert und durch weitere Werke des Künstlers kontextualisiert.

Michel Majerus gilt als ein maßgeblicher Vorreiter von Entwicklungen in der Kunst, die mit dem sich entfaltenden Informationszeitalter respektive dem digitalen Zeitalter in Verbindung stehen. Bereits in den 1990er Jahren reflektierte Majerus in raumgreifenden Gemälden und installativen Werken Elemente digitaler Ästhetik. Seine Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch die Einbindung von Werbung in Form von Slogans und Logos sowie von Comic-Figuren, Computerspielen und anderen popkulturellen Einflüssen aus. Dabei dekontextua- lisierte er die neuartigen Codes und band sie in ironisch überhöhter Manier in neue Bedeutungskontexte ein, indem er sie beispielsweise mit kunsthistorischen Referenzen auf die gleiche Ebene setzte. Zudem war Majerus einer der ersten Maler seiner Zeit, der den Computer als ein Werkzeug im Rahmen seiner Bilderproduktion verwendete.

Die Ausstellung Michel Majerus – Data Streaming vermittelt damit Ansätze im künstlerischen Schaffen von Michel Majerus, die noch heute von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern als ihrer Zeit voraus bezeichnet werden, und stellt die Frage nach einer möglichen Weiterentwicklung seines Werks bis in die Informationskultur der Jetztzeit. Die zeitgleich stattfindende Ausstellung von Cory Arcangel im unteren Ausstellungsraum führt eine Antwort auf diese Frage vor Augen.